The First World Cup

The first World Cup wasn't in 1975, it was actually in 1973, and was called the Women's Cricket World Cup.

The 7 teams on display were England, Australia, New Zealand, International XI, Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica and Young England.

England were completely dominant throughout the tournament, losing just one match in a rain effected loss to New Zealand. Chasing 105 for victory in 35 overs, England were 1/34 after 15 overs when the match was abandoned and New Zealand won on superior run rate.

England comfortably defeated Australia in the final by 92 runs. The match was played at Edgbaston. Enid Bakewell top scored for the home nation with 118 in the final. She also was the leading run scorer in the tournament with 264 runs at 88.00

Enid Bakewell flicks one behind square Source: Wisden

Would you like to be a part of this amazing journey?

Have a great topic in mind that you would like to share with us? A video that you would like to air? A great statistic or photo you would like to be posted?  Sign up and become a member and also let us know by emailing us at 

As promised this is a site for you, the fans! 

  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon


Follow us


Follow us


Become a Fan



© 2019 Cricket Buffet